Your Leelanau County Road Commission

Chairman: Jim Calhoun

Vice-Chairman: John Popa

Member: Robert Joyce

This 2013 Peterbilt is the latest addition to the Leelanau County Road Commission snowplow fleet. 

 About The Road Commission

Each road commission member is elected to a six year term of office with each term staggered every two years.  This way only one commissioner is up for re-election in any given election year.   Elections for road commission are held in even numbered years, corresponding to county, state and federation election schedules.  During the first meeting in January, the three member Board begins each year by electing a Chair and Vice-chair for the ensuing year.  This process is followed by appointing a Manager and a Secretary to the Board, and by adopting a meeting schedule for the year.  It is the custom of the Road Commission to hold meetings on the first and third Tuesdays of each month starting at 1:00 p.m. at our Suttons Bay office.   Click here to see our 2017 Road Commission meeting schedule

Duties and Responsibilities

The Leelanau County Road Commission is charged with setting policy, adopting a budget and assuring that staff members carry out the business of the commission.  To use our directory below, please click on the email links for each Road Commissioner and staff member below:     

To see an organizational flow chart of the Road Commission staff, please click here.     

Board Members: 

John Popa, Vice chairman jpopa@leelanauroads.org   -  Home phone 947-1088

Jim Calhoun, Chairman-  jcalhoun@leelanauroads.org

Robert Joyce, Member - rjoyce@leelanauroads.org

-For general inquires, please send emails to lcrc@leelanauroads.org 


Road Commission Staff

Dan Wagner, Managing Director
Media contacts, policy questions, inquiries not addressed below.
231-271-3993 Ext. 225
dwagner@leelanauroads.org

James Johnson, Engineer
Non-residential construction permits, utility permits, land divisions and design standards.
231-271-3993 Ext. 224
jjohnson@leelanauroads.org

Dave Priest, Superintendent
Residential driveway permits, contacts regarding road maintenance and conditions.
231-271-3993 Ext. 226
dpriest@leelanauroads.org

Joe Nedow, Finance Manager - Secretary to the Board
Transportation permits, accounting/financial functions, human resources. 231-271-3993 Ext. 223
jnedow@leelanauroads.org

Gino Grimaldi, Foreman - Maple City garage
As this location unable to receive phone calls, please contact the Suttons Bay office at 231-271-3993.
lcrcmaplecity@centurylink.net
129 W. Church St, Maple City, MI 49664

Dustin Albrecht, Fleet and Facilities Manager
Fleet and facility related contacts.
231-271-3993 Ext. 227
dalbrecht@leelanauroads.org

Lynn Herman, Payroll Specialist
General permit questions and assistance.
231-271-3993 Ext. 221
lmherman@leelanauroads.org